Bangkok adventures part one

A few people have asked what I’m up to in Thailand, so here are a few pictures from the first few days of my trip.

So far we’ve:

  • Shopped. MBK mall in central Bangkok puts any American mall I’ve visited to shame. It has seven floors packed full of almost anything you can imagine: clothes, Thai crafts, movies, salons and “Rolex” watches that you can buy for about $30 (I’m sure they’re totally legit). Jatujak Weekend Market is one of the most crowded and awesome places I’ve ever seen. Picture at least 20 flea markets squished into about one square mile. I took pictures, but they don’t quite capture what the heat, smell and crowds feel like when you’re there.
  • We also went to the Patpong red-light district… in the evening. Obviously we were there to shop at the night market and not to go into any of the shady bars. Still, it was an interesting experience to say the least.
  • My family and I spent a morning walking around and looking at the Water Monitors at Lumpini Park, which is a mile of my aunt’s apartment.
  • We took a trip to Krabi, Thailand and spent three days snorkeling, swimming and riding around in rickety longboats.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

